Attingham Park Revisited

Every so often the National Trust sends its members a magazine containing information about upcoming events and being the festive season, some of the National Trust owned country houses are holding events where the house is decorated for a themed Christmas. Attingham Park, former home of the Lord’s Berwick, hosts a 1920’s Christmas exhibit, where the house adorned with festive decoration along with information about the last Lord and Lady Berwick’s festivities during the 1920’s.

Christmas Tree in the Picture Gallery
Christmas Tree in the Picture Gallery

After my last visit to Attingham Park, I received an email from a lady in America who is writing a story based at Attingham, and wanted any additional information I could provide. As part of our conversing, I arranged to revisit Attingham Park, taking greater care to photograph areas I missed last time and to find out as much as I could about the house from the room guides.

For this visit, given it’s proximity to Christmas, I thought it would be nice to make a day of it with my grandparent’s and my niece, the latter of which insisted on walking throughout the house wearing her Hello Kitty earmuffs. Here are a few photographs from the house, decorated for Christmas.

Stables
Stables
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
Sultana Room
Sultana Room
Boudoir
Boudoir tree, decorated with crane’s placed by visitors including my niece
Fancy dress costumes worn by Lord and Lady Berwick
Fancy dress costumes worn by Lord and Lady Berwick
Grand Staircase
Grand Staircase
Kitchen complete with festive snacks
Kitchen complete with festive snacks
Christmas Tree in the Servant's Hall, decorated with paper birds and slices of orange
Christmas Tree in the Servant’s Hall, decorated with paper birds and slices of orange

Perhaps the most useful bit of information I found for my American writer was a floorplan of Attingham Park, depicting each of the four floors and showing the now demolished Tern Hall’s integration with the newer Attingham Park mansion.

Attingham Park floorplan with the old Tern Hall in blue
Attingham Park floorplan with the old Tern Hall in blue

After having a walk around the house and feasting on parsnip and sage soup in the mansion tea room, we walked over to the Deer Park, to the section I did not venture to on my last visit, which delightfully rewarded us with an up-close view of Attingham’s deer.

Deer
Deer
Deer
Deer
Deer
Deer

I cannot say for certain what my next blog post will be about nor when it will be, but until then have a lovely Christmas.

Web Links

One comment

Leave a Reply

